Skip to content

Rachael Yamagata concert

April 17, 2009

Before I start, I shall tell you how Lenne nearly gave me and another friend, sm, an heart attack by being late for the concert. We were unknowingly graced by the presence of the guitarist and the bassist of Rachael Yamagata’s backing band while we waited at the concert hall entrance for Lenne. Blasphemy! We didn’t know who those two calm guys standing beside us were.  If I have precognitive power, I would have pounced on them with my cheapo camera phone.

Anyway Lenne made it, and we rushed into the concert hall just in time when the opening act Jack and Rai started on their first song. Phew!

jack-and-rayJack and Rai (pronounced as Ray please)

ryRachael Yamagata on the piano

guitaristThe guitarist

bassistLenne and I think that the bassist is cute :D

cello-manThe cellist

drummerThe drummer

ry-and-band

Rachael Yamagata was stunning live despite of her cold. Even Lenne couldn’t hear any difference in her voice. I find myself thinking that her studio recordings sound lackluster (they are already great in the first place though) compared to her live raw performance. I love the anecdotes and jokes Rachael Yamagata shared in between songs. She jokingly declared to us that she kept her guitar picks in her bra. And at one point, Rachael Yamagata even threw a drum stick into the crowd below. A girl managed to catch the blessed stick. Lucky her!

throwing-the-sticksRachael Yamagata in action

When the concert ended, everyone rushed immediately to the meet and greet venue to catch a glimpse of Rachael Yamagata in real life. Lenne and I squeezed in along with the other enthusiastic fans, and managed to take a few pictures of her.

ry3

We heard her coughing painfully during the autograph session. You’ve got to hand it to her for delivering such a stellar performance. And Lenne heard that Rachael Yamagata stayed on for two hours plus for the autograph session (which was supposed to be only 30 minutes long on a first come first serve basis) because she didn’t want to disappoint her fans.

ry2

Outfit pictures

lenne3Lenne with her new Charles & Keith heels that she got for $25.

huishan2I’m in my stripes phase.

Lenne took a video of Rachael Yamagata performing What If I leave. We would love to share it with you, but due to technical malfunctions, the video is lost :( Lenne suffered hand cramps taking that video. Oh well.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lenne permalink*
    April 17, 2009 2:24 pm

    You mean my inability to operate a cam ):

  2. s:m permalink
    April 17, 2009 4:17 pm

    i thought the bassist WAS cute too. hmm.

    • huishan permalink*
      April 18, 2009 6:58 am

      I thought he looked like one of the Jonas Brothers. But lenne said I spoiled it for her ):

      • Lenne permalink*
        April 18, 2009 11:37 am

        did I? O_O

  3. ranon permalink
    April 18, 2009 2:24 am

    the stripes phase is really cool!

    • huishan permalink*
      April 18, 2009 6:59 am

      Haha! Stripes are in, I think.

      • ranon permalink
        April 18, 2009 1:02 pm

        well or at least i think you look good in stripes!

  4. April 20, 2009 2:54 am

    Your last photo looks like something Fruits magazine would shoot.

    Why don’t you do a singapore fashion report like them.

    • Lenne permalink*
      April 20, 2009 4:22 am

      Singapore Street fashion photography is pretty common nowadays actually.
      For instance: http://community.livejournal.com/streetsnaps/

      At some point I’ll probably ambush well dressed people on the streets though, haha! But I honestly doubt it’s something I’ll do on every post.

      This is our lifestyle+fashion blog, (plus we’ve barely started) so we’re still experimenting and mainly recording our (more interesting) day to day events. I guess at some point we’ll probably focus more on some aspects and a little less on others, but I don’t see the need to specialize on anything (yet).

      But thank you for being a faithful reader of our blog! \o/
      I’ll consider your suggestions seriously. :D

      • April 20, 2009 10:54 am

        Thank you.
        I am your #1 fan and I hope your content increases in leaps and bounds.

  5. May 23, 2009 6:17 pm

    where your shoes from thanks

Leave a Reply

